Royal Storytime

February 26, 2013 at 10:00 am 1 comment

February 26, 2013

Books
King Jack and the Dragon by Peter Bentley
Who Wants a Dragon? By James Mayhew

Music
“Mr. Eric’s Jumping Song” from The Big Silly With Mr. Eric by Eric Litwin

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays
Opening Song: Come Along and Sing With Me
(tune: Mary Had a Little Lamb)
Come along and sing with me, sing with me, sing with me.
Come along and sing with me, on a sunny Tuesday.

Come along and clap with me . . .
Come along and jump with me…
Come along and stretch with me . . .
Come along and sit with me…

Movement Song: The Noble Duke of York
Oh, the noble Duke of York
He had ten thousand men.
He marched them up to the top of the hill
And he marched them down again.
Oh, when they’re up, they’re up
And when they’re down, they’re down.
And when they’re only halfway up
They’re neither up nor down!

Movement Rhyme: 10 Little Fingers
I have ten little fingers, and they all belong to me.
I can make them do things, would you like to see?
I can shut them tight.
I can open them wide.
I can put them together.
I can make them hide.
I can make them fly high.
I can make them fly low.
I can fold them like this and hold them just so.

Flannel Board: Color Dragons
Red dragon,
Green dragon,
Grey dragon.
Blue…
Orange dragon,
Teal dragon,
Purple dragon, too!
How many dragons do we see?
Count them now along with me.

Fly away purple dragon,
Fly away blue.
Wave goodbye to two!
How many dragons do we see now?
Count them along with me.

Movement Song: The Wings of the Dragon
The wings of the dragon go up and down,
up and down, up and down.
The wings of the dragon go up and down,
all through the land.
The princess in the tower says, “Please save me!”
The knight scares the dragon far away
The people in the kingdom jump and shout!
All through the land.

Movement Rhyme: Dragon Dragon
Dragon dragon turn around.
Dragon dragon touch the ground.
Dragon dragon fly up high.
Dragon dragon float in the sky.
Dragon dragon shake your tail.
Dragon dragon move slow like a snail.
Dragon Dragon give a roar.
Dragon dragon sit back down on the floor.

Movement Song: Castle Capers
I am the king of running,
I run and run and run.
My subjects all run with me,
And we have so much fun!
I am the prince of turning,
I turn and turn and turn.
My subjects all turn with me
It’s an easy thing to learn!
I am the princess of dancing,
I dance and dance and dance
My subjects all dance with me
And dance when they get the chance!
I am the Queen of jumping,
I jump and jump and jump.
My subjects all jump with me
And sit down with a bump.

Closing Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This
We wave goodbye like this
We wave goodbye like this
We clap our hands for all our friends
We wave goodbye like this

Entry filed under: Tuesday AM Storytime.

Circus Time Baby Time February 27, 2013

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Storytime: Royalty | Stories With Ms. Jenna  |  January 9, 2014 at 11:35 am

    […] Dragon dragon turn around. Dragon dragon touch the ground. Dragon dragon fly up high. Dragon dragon float in the sky. Dragon dragon shake your tail. Dragon dragon move slow like a snail. Dragon dragon give a roar. Dragon dragon sit back down on the floor. source […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

You can find many of our storytime books and music in the library’s collection or from MelCat. For help finding these materials, contact Youth Services at 517-321-4014 x3.

Archives

Text Tips for Families

logo

Storytime Kits

For more storytime fun at home, check out our collection of Storytime Kits. Each kit has a theme and includes books, toys, and an activity sheet. Learn more about these kits, and our Little Things collection, here.

Categories