Super Messy, Super Clean

July 11, 2013 at 6:00 pm Leave a comment

Thursday, July 11 2013

Books

Henry’s Bath by Margaret Perversi, illus. by Ron Brooks
Little Oink by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, illus. by Jen Corace
Dini Dinosaur by Karen Beaumont, illus. by Daniel Roode

Music

“I Am a Bubble” by Charlotte Diamond, Charlotte Diamond’s World
“Muddy Water Puddle” by Hap Palmer, Sally the Swinging Snake
“Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes” and “Rub-a-Dub” by Joanie Bartels, Bathtime Magic

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Fingerplay: Five Little Piggies
Five little piggies, rolling in the mud
Squishy, squashy, squishy, squashy
Rolling in the mud
Along came the farmer and took one to the tub,
And that left four piggies rolling in the mud.

To roll in the mud: make hands into fists and “roll” arms around each other. “Squishy squashy” can be enacted by stomping feet (sitting or standing), and/or motioning hands up and down, with fingers stretched out. Motion someone walking for “along came the farmer.” Motion heaving a little piggy over your shoulder. Count the number of piggies on your fingers. Try speeding up the rhyme as you repeat it, for greater hilar¬ity, gross motor/fine motor coordination, and just for the challenge!

Song: The Bath Song
Can you wash your hair? (Shrug your shoulders, make an inquisitive look with your face)
I can wash my hair. (Pretend to wash your hair.)

Feet, face, knees

I can wash my hair.
I can wash my feet.
I can wash my face.
I can wash my knees.
This is the way we take a bath. (Wash your whole body!)

Shoulders, toes, hands, nose

I can wash my shoulders.
I can wash my toes.
I can wash my hands.
I can wash my nose.
This is the way we take a bath. (Wash your whole body!)

Song: Five Pigs So Squeaky Clean
Sing it to “Five Green and Speckled Frogs”

Five pigs so squeaky clean
Cleanest you’ve ever seen
Wanted to go outside and play
Oink! Oink!
One jumped into the mud
Landed with a big thud
Then there were four clean squeaky pigs.

Entry filed under: Evening Storytime. Tags: , , , , , .

Bugs, Bugs, Bugs! Counting, 1, 2, 3…

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

You can find many of our storytime books and music in the library’s collection or from MelCat. For help finding these materials, contact Youth Services at 517-321-4014 x3.

Archives

Text Tips for Families

logo

Storytime Kits

For more storytime fun at home, check out our collection of Storytime Kits. Each kit has a theme and includes books, toys, and an activity sheet. Learn more about these kits, and our Little Things collection, here.

Categories