Toddler Storytime- Garden

April 20, 2017 at 10:30 am Leave a comment

Books:
My Garden by Kevin Henkes
What Will Grow? by Jennifer Ward

Songs:
My garden” by Raffi
Fruit Salad Salsa” by Laurie Berkener

Letter of the Week:
This week we are learning about the letter Zz.

Songs & Rhymes:

Opening Song: Welcome, Welcome Everyone
Welcome, welcome everyone, (use sign language for “hello”)
Now you’re here we’ll have some fun.
First we’ll clap our hands just so,
Then we’ll bend and touch our toes.
Welcome, welcome everyone,
Now you’re here we’ll have some fun.

Song Cube:
• I’m a Little Teapot
• ABC’s
• Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
• The Itsy Bitsy Spider
• B.I.N.G.O.
• Wheels on the Bus

Transition Rhyme
I wiggle my fingers,
I wiggle my toes,
I wiggle my shoulders,
I wiggle my nose,
Now no more wiggles are left in me,
So I will sit as quietly as I can be.

Movement Rhyme
Flowers grow like this (sit with hands together, then open hands)
Trees grow like this (stay sitting but reach arms up high)
I grow just like this (shoot up like rocket)

Movement Rhyme
Slowly, slowly very slowly creeps the garden snail
Slowly, slowly very slowly up the garden rail
Quickly, quickly very quickly flies the little bug
Quickly, quickly very quickly landed on a rug.

Closing Song: Tickle the Clouds
Tickle the clouds
and tickle your toes
Clap your hands
and tickle your nose
Reach down low
And reach up high
Story time’s over —
Wave bye-bye!

Entry filed under: Thursday AM Storytime. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Baby Time: April 19, 2017 Music & Movement – April 21, 2017

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories