Chicken and Egg Storytime

April 11, 2017 at 2:00 pm Leave a comment

Tuesday, Apr 11th, 2017

Books

The Featherless Chicken by Chih-Yuan Chen
Chickens to the Rescue by John Himmelman
P. Zonka Lays an Egg by Julie Paschkis

Music

I Know a Chicken by Laurie Berkner – The Best of the Laurie Berkner Band
Put a Chicken on Your Head by Mr Eric and Mr Michael – Groovy Green

 Activities

Craft:
We made a cute chicken and filled it with eggs that we found on a scavenger hunt in the library.

Felt Board:
We did the rhyme ‘Hunting for Eggs’ on the felt board

Songs & Rhymes

Rhyme

Hunting for eggs
Under my bed,
I found one in a slipper,
And the egg was colored red.

Hunting for eggs,
Now I have two,
I found one in the closet,
And the egg was colored blue.

Hunting for eggs,
What a lucky fellow,
I found one in a bucket,
And the egg was colored yellow.

Hunting for eggs
Where none could be seen,
I found one in a shoe box,
And the egg was colored green.

Hunting for eggs,
Quick as a wink,
I found one in the garden,
And the egg was colored pink

Red and yellow,
Green, pink, and blue.
I found five eggs–-
How about you?

And a Rhyme with puppets:

“Five Little Eggs” 

There are five little eggs
And what do we see
They’re about to crack open
“My goodness me,”
said Mother Hen.

The first egg cracks open
And what do we see
It’s a snappy little alligator
Looking at me.

The second egg cracks open
And what do we see
It’s a little purple dinosaur
Looking at me.

The third egg cracks open
And what do we see
It’s a long green snake
Looking at me.

The fourth egg cracks open
And what do we see
It’s a pretty red cardinal
Looking at me.

The fifth egg cracks open
And what do we see
It’s a little yellow chicken
Looking at me.

“My baby!”
said the mother hen,
as happy as can be.

“Mommy!” said the chick.
“Did you meet all my sisters and brothers?”
“What!” shrieked Mother Hen,
“My goodness me.”

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Tuesday AM Storytime. Tags: , .

Music & Movement – Apr. 7 , 2017 Baby Time: April 12, 2017

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories