Music & Movement – March 17, 2017

March 17, 2017 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

Books

Who Sank the Boat? by Pamela Allen
Is That Wise, Pig? by Jan Thomas

Music

“Jump” by Milkshake, Bottle of Sunshine
“Hip Hop Body Rock” by Learning Groove, Rockin’ Red
“My Ups and Downs” by Jim Gill, Jim Gill Sings Do Re Me on His Toe Leg Knee
“Jump, Jump”  and “Popcorn” by Joanie Leeds, I’m a Rock Star

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Song: The More We Get Together
The more we get together, together, together.
The more we get together, the happier we’ll be.
For your friends are my friends.
And my friends are your friends.
The more we get together, the happier we’ll be.

Movement Rhyme: Sometimes
Reach for the ceiling
Sometimes my hands are at my side,
Then behind my back they hide.
Sometimes I wiggle my fingers so,
Shake them fast, shake them slow.
Sometimes my hands go clap, clap, clap,
Then I rest them in my lap.
Now they’re quiet as can be
Because it’s listening time, you see.

Shaker Song: We’re Going to Shake Our Shakers
To the tune of “Jimmy Crack Corn”
We’re going to shake our shakers High and low.
We’re going to shake our shakers High and low.
We’re going to shake our shakers High and low,
Until someone says…….STOP!
Shake our shakers … Fast and slow.ac
Shake our shakers … Left and right.
Shake our shakers … Front and back

Movement Rhyme: I Wish I Were
I wish I were a bunny, a bunny, a bunny
I wish I were a bunny, cause bunnies can hop
They hop and they hop and they hop and they hop
I wish I were a bunny cause bunnies can hop
More: Fish-swim, horses-gallop, birds-fly, frogs-leap

Movement Rhyme: Run in Place
Run in place,
Turn around,
Flap your arms,
Now sit right down.
Put your finger on your nose,
And wiggle it around,
Put your finger on your lips,
And make this sound, “Shh.”

Movement Rhyme: Wave Goodbye
Wave high, wave low,
I think it’s time, we gotta go.
Wave your elbows, wave your toes,
Wave your tongue and wave your nose.
Wave your knees, wave your lips,
Blow a kiss with fingertips.
Wave your chin, wave your eye,
Wave your hand and say “Goodbye!”

Entry filed under: Music & Movement. Tags: .

Baby Time: March 15, 2017 Robot Storytime

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories