Keeping Warm Storytime

February 7, 2017 at 2:00 pm Leave a comment

Tuesday,  Feb 7th, 2017

Books

Cat Knit by Jacob Grant
A Hat for Mrs. Goldman by Michelle Edwards
This is the Baby by Candace Fleming

 Music

I Like My Hat by Carole Peterson -Stinky Cake
What You Gonna Wear
by Cathy Fink – Help Yourself

 Activities

Song Activity:
We used paper dolls and clothes to match up with the words of the song “It is Snowing”

Rhyme Activity:
We
used puppets and different hats for the rhyme ‘Hats for Animals’

We used the magnet board to do the ‘Kitten Lost Her Mitten’ rhyme

Craft:
We made a Mitten Wreath and learned to finger knit

Movement: We danced with scarves

Songs & Rhymes

Rhymes:

Tall hat, (arms overhead)
Small hat (hands on head)
Big hat (arms outspread)
Cap (hands on head)
Let me take them off again (repeat motions in reverse)
And put them in my lap. (fold hands in lap)

Hats for Animals – with hats and puppets

Five funny winter hats,
A black one to adore,
A monkey came and bought it –
And now, there are four

Three funny winter hats
One is big and blue
An elephant just bought it
And now, there are two

Four funny winter hats
The stripey one should please
A snake just bought it –
And now, there are three

Two funny winter hats
The straw one’s good for sun
A frog came and bought it
And now there’s only one.

One funny winter hat
It’s very, very small
A mouse came and bought it
The last one of all.

My poor little kitten lost her mitten

My poor little kitten lost her mitten
And started to cry, Boo-Hoo.
So I helped my kitten to look for her mitten,
Her beautiful mitten of BLUE  (so we need to help kitten find her mitten!)

I found a mitten just right for a kitten
Under my Mother’s bed.
But, alas, the mitten was not the right mitten
For it was colored RED.

I found a mitten just right for a kitten
Under my father’s pillow.
But, alas, the mitten was not the right mitten
For it was colored YELLOW.

I found a mitten just right for a kitten
On the hand of my brother’s toy clown.
But, alas, the mitten was not the right mitten
For it was colored BROWN.

I found a mitten just right for a kitten
Under the laundry so clean
But, alas, the mitten was not the right mitten
For it was colored GREEN.

I found a mitten just right for a kitten
Inside a grocery bag.
But, alas, the mitten was not the right mitten
For it was colored BLACK.

I found a mitten just right for a kitten
Under the kitchen sink.
But, alas, the mitten was not the right mitten
For it was colored PINK.

I found a mitten just right for a kitten
Inside my favorite shoe
And this time the mitten was just the right mitten
For it was colored BLUE!

Songs:
(sung to tune of “Are You Sleeping” Provide paper doll and paper clothing to do activity

“It is snowing, it is snowing,
On my head, on my head
I need a hat, I need a hat,
On my head, on my head”

On my feet… (boots)

On my hands…(mittens)

On my neck…(scarf)

 

The Winter Song (tune: Farmer in the Dell)

Let’s sing a winter song,
Let’s sing a winter song,
The days are short, the nights are long.
Let’s sing a winter song.

The winter wind is cold,
The winter wind is cold,
It freezes noses, ears, and toes.
The winter wind is cold.

Winter now is here,
Winter now is here,
Put on your coat, your hat, your gloves,
Winter now is here.

 

Entry filed under: Tuesday AM Storytime. Tags: , , , , .

Music & Movement – Feb 3rd, 2017 Baby Time: February 8, 2017

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories