Toddler Storytime- Animals

September 29, 2016 at 10:30 am Leave a comment

Books
Monkey and Me by Emily Gravett
Rrralph by Lois Ehlert

Felt Board
When Cows Get Up in the Morning

Songs
At the Zoo by Merry Music Makers, Kids on the Move

Song Cube:
• I’m a Little Teapot
• ABC’s
• Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
• The Itsy Bitsy Spider
• Five Green Speckled Frogs
• Wheels on the Bus

Letter of the Week
This week we are learning about the letter Dd.

Early Literacy Fact of the Week:

Read:
• Stop before a predictable word or line in a book and ask your child to chime in to help them learn new words. This works really well with rhyming books or books with repetition.
• Read EVERYTHING! Make signs for objects around your house. When you’re on the go read and spell road signs.

Songs & Rhymes

Open Song: Wake Up Feet
Wake up feet, wake up feet
Wake up feet and wiggle, wiggle, wiggle
Wake up feet, wake up feet
Wake up feet and wiggle in the morning.

other verses: hands, eyes, ears

Three Little Monkeys
Three little monkeys
Swinging in a tree.
Teasing Mr. alligator, “Can’t catch Me!”
Along comes Mr. alligator
Quiet as can be,
And snaps that monkey right out that tree
Two…
One…
No more monkeys swinging in the tree.

Hands Go Up
Hands go up and hands go down.
I can turn myself around.
I can reach down to my shoe.
I can listen so can you.
Now let’s sit, I’ll show you how.
The next story is starting now.

Baby Bumblebee
I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee,
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me,
(Cup hands together as if holding bee)

I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee,
Ouch! It stung me!
(Shake hands as if just stung)

I’m squishing up the baby bumblebee,
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me,
(‘Squish’ bee between palms of hands)

I’m squishing up a baby bumblebee,
Ooh! It’s yucky!
(Open up hands to look at ‘mess’)

I’m wiping off the baby bumblebee,
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me,
(Wipe hands off on shirt)

I’m wiping off the baby bumblebee,
Now my mommy won’t be mad at me!
(Hold hands up to show they are clean)

Old MacDonald Had a Farm
Old MacDonald had a farm,
E-I-E-I-O.
And on his farm he had a cow,
E-I-E-I-O.
With a moo-moo here
And a moo-moo there.
Here a moo, there a moo,
Everywhere a moo-moo.
Old MacDonald had a farm,
E-I-E-I-O.
…..pig…oink-oink…
…..duck…quack-quack…
…..cat…meow-meow…

Closing Song: I Think It’s Time We Have To Go
I think it’s time, we have to go.
Wave your elbows, wave your toes.
Wave your tongue, wave your nose.
Wave your knees, wave your lips.
Blow me a kiss with your fingertips.
Wave your chin, wave your eye.
Now it’s time to wave goodbye.

Entry filed under: Thursday AM Storytime. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Baby Time: September 28, 2016 Dinosaurs Storytime

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories