Music and Movement February 12th, 2016

February 12, 2016 at 12:12 pm Leave a comment

February 12th, 2016

Books

There Was An Old Monster by Rebecca Emberley
Boogie Monster by Josie Bissett

Music
Run Baby Run by Caspar Babypants
Ribbons in the Air by Pam Schiller – Leaping Literacy
Spaghetti Legs by Jim Gill – Jim Gill’s Sneezing Songs

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Movement Activity: Sometimes I like to Curl Up in a Ball

Sometimes I like to curl up in a ball,
So no one can see me
Because I’m so small.

Sometimes I like to jump high as I can,
To see how much noise I can make
When I land.

Sometimes I just like to walk round and round,
I pigeon step, pigeon step,
Till I fall down.

Sometimes I like to stand still as a tree,
And watch everyone rush
Around about me.

But when the day ends and the sun starts to fall,
Then I do what I do best of all,
I find somewhere soft,
somewhere cozy and small…

And that’s where I like to curl up in a ball.

Rhyme: 5 Little Fish

Five little fish swimming in the sea
teasing Mr. Shark “You can’t catch me, you can’t catch me.”
Along comes Mr. Shark as quiet as can be
and snaps that fish right out of the sea.

4…3…2…1…NONE!

Activities:

We did a felt board story of There Was  An Old Monster by Rebecca Emberley

We danced with wrist ribbons.

We played with the parachute and made the dust bunnies fly!

Entry filed under: Music & Movement. Tags: , .

Toddler Time February 11, 2016 Rubber Duckie Storytime

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories