Toddler Time November 19, 2015

November 19, 2015 at 2:09 pm Leave a comment

Thursday November 19th,  2015

Books
Pie in the Oven by Betty G. Birney
Bears Says Thanks by Karma Wilson

Felt Board
One Little Two Little Turkeys

Activities

Sensory Activity
Toddler Toys and Tunnel and Parachute

Number of the Week
This week we are working on the number 11. I used a felt board with three mice and the number 11.

Early Literacy Fact of the Week
Reading together remains the single most effective way to help children become proficient readers.

http://libraries.idaho.gov/files/Six-Early-Literacy-SkillsPresent.pdf

Songs & Rhymes

Open Song: Clap and Sing Hello

We clap and sing hello,
We clap and sing hello,
With our friends at story time,
We clap and sing hello!

Wave and sing hello
Stomp and sing hello.

Action Rhyme: Ten Fingers
I have ten fingers
And they all belong to me,
I can make them do things-
Would you like to see?
I can shut them up tight
I can open them wide
I can put them together
I can make them all hide
I can make them jump high
I can make them jump low
I can fold them up quietly
And hold them just so.

Rhyme: Funny Turkey

The turkey is a funny bird
Its head goes bobble-bobble;
And all he knows is just one word …
And that is Gobble-Gobble!

Action Rhyme: My Hands Say “Thank You”

My hands say thank you with a clap, clap, clap,
My feet say thank you with a tap, tap, tap,
My head says thank you with a shake, shake, shake,
And my heart says thank you with a kiss to take (blow kiss)

Song: Hands Are Clapping (Tune of: Skip to My Lou)

Hands are clapping
Clap, clap, clap
Hands are clapping
Clap, clap, clap
Hands are clapping
Clap, clap, clap
Clap your hands, my darling

Toes are tapping, tap, tap, tap…
Fingers are wiggling, wiggle, wiggle, wiggle…
Eyes are hiding, peek-a-boo…

Closing Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This
We wave goodbye like this
We wave goodbye like this
We clap our hands for all our friends
We wave goodbye like this

Entry filed under: Thursday AM Storytime. Tags: , , , , , , .

Baby Time: November 18, 2015 Tasty Tales

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories