Toddler Time September 17, 2015

September 17, 2015 at 1:28 pm Leave a comment

Thursday September 17,  2015

Books
Small Elephant’s Bathtime by Tatyana Feeney
Bears in the Bath by Shirley Parenteau

Felt Board
Five Little Elephants

Song
“And the World Goes Round and Round”  Dragon Tales Soundtrack
The Freeze Dance” Various

Activities

Sensory Play
Toddler Toys and Tunnel

Number of the Week
This week we are working on the number 2. I used a felt board with two butterflies and the number 2. I then asked the children what we have two of (eyes, arms, hands, legs, feet)

Early Literacy Fact of the Week
Narrative Skill: describing things and events, telling stories, knowing the order of events, and making predictions.

  • Tell stories with your child
  • Encourage pretend play
  • Let your child be a story teller.

Songs & Rhymes

Open Song: Clap and Sing Hello

We clap and sing hello,
We clap and sing hello,
With our friends at story time,
We clap and sing hello!

Wave and sing hello
Stomp and sing hello.

Action Rhyme: Ten Fingers
I have ten fingers
And they all belong to me,
I can make them do things-
Would you like to see?
I can shut them up tight
I can open them wide
I can put them together
I can make them all hide
I can make them jump high
I can make them jump low
I can fold them up quietly
And hold them just so.

Song: This is the Way (Tune of Tune: Here We Go Round The Mulberry Bush)

This is the way we clap our hands,
Clap our hands, clap our hands.
This is the way we clap our hands,
So early in the morning.
…..tap our toes…
…..touch our nose…
…..stomp our feet…

Action Song: Shake Your Sillies Out lyrics by Raffi

I’ve gotta shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
Shake, shake, shake my sillies out,
And wiggle my waggles away!

  • Clap Your Crazies
  • Jump Your Jiggles
  • Yawn Your Sleepies
  • Shake Your Sillies

Closing Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This
We wave goodbye like this
We wave goodbye like this
We clap our hands for all our friends
We wave goodbye like this

Entry filed under: Thursday AM Storytime. Tags: , , , .

Baby Time: September 16, 2015 Music and Movement September 18th 2015

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories