Superheroes

June 18, 2015 at 6:00 pm Leave a comment

Thursday, June 18, 2015

Books

Mighty Max! by Harriet Ziefert, illus. by Elliot Kreloff
Do Super Heroes Have Teddy Bears? by Carmela LaVigna Coyle, illus. by Mike Gordon
Eliot Jones, Midnight Superhero by Anne Cottringer, illus. by Alex T. Smith
My Dad, My Hero by Ethan Long

Music

“Jump and Fly” by Laurie Berkner Band, Rocketship Run
“Rhythm in the Scarves” by Johnette Downing, The Second Line
“I Wanna Be an Action Figure” by Daddy a Go-Go, Big Rock Rooster

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Song: Did You Ever See a Hero?
(Tune: “Did you ever see a lassie”)
Did you ever see a hero, a hero, a hero,
Did you ever see a hero, fly through the sky?
Fly this way and that way, and that way and this way
Did you ever see a hero fly through the sky?
Stomping their feet, jumping up and down, shaking their body, etc.

Rhyme with Scarves: My Many Colored Capes
By Carissa Christner, 2009

My cape of bravery goes over my head.
It makes me feel bold, and its color is RED.

My cape of honesty makes villains speak true.
It chases out lies, and its color is BLUE.

My cape of fairness conquers those who are mean.
It makes me feel strong, and its color is GREEN.

My cape of calmness makes me feel mellow.
It quiets the world, and its color is YELLOW.

My cape of wisdom helps me to think
And solve tricky problems, and its color is PINK.

My favorite cape gives me a nice glow.
It’s all these great colors—In a RAINBOW!!!

Movement Rhyme: Superhero, Superhero
Superhero, superhero . . . (repeat each time)
Turn around
Touch the ground
Put on your suit
Put on your boots
Jump up high
Fly, fly, fly

Movement Rhyme: Up, Up and Away
Put your hands way up high (raise arms up in air)
Like Superkid flying across the sky (assume flying position)
Fly to the left, now fly to the right (lean to your right, then left)
Now show me your muscles with all your might, (make arm muscles)
Now Superkid’s putting his suit away (bring arms down slowly)
So he can go flying another day (rest hands in lap)

Entry filed under: Evening Storytime. Tags: , .

Baby Time: June 17, 2015 Masters of Disguise Storytime

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories