Music & Movement – April 10, 2015

April 10, 2015 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

April 10, 2015

Books

Roar! A Noisy Counting Book by Pamela Duncan Edwards, illus. by Henry Cole
How Can You Dance? by Rick Walton, illus. by Ana Lopez Escriva

Music

“Warm-Up Time” from Action Songs for Preschoolers
“Five Little Monkeys” by Go Fish, Party Like a Preschooler
“All the Ways of Jumping Up and Down” by Hap Palmer, Walter the Waltzing Worm
“Walking, Walking” by Anne-Marie Akin, Songs for Wiggleworms
“Simon Says” by Greg & Steve, We All Live Together
“Hokey Pokey” by Stacy Buehler, Songs for Wiggleworms

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Song: The More We Get Together
The more we get together, together, together.
The more we get together, the happier we’ll be.
For your friends are my friends.
And my friends are your friends.
The more we get together, the happier we’ll be.

Fingerplay: Tommy Thumbs
Tommy Thumbs are up, (thumbs up, both hands)
Tommy Thumbs are down. (thumbs down)
Tommy Thumbs are dancing, (thumbs up and bounce to the right)
All around the town. (bounce to the left in front of you)
Dance them on your shoulders, (bounce them on your shoulders)
Dance them on your head. (bounce them on your head)
Dance them on your knees, (bounce them on your knees)
And tuck them into bed. (fold arms, hiding hands)

Song: We Wave Our Scarves Together
Tune: The Bear Went Over the Mountain
We wave our scarves together (3 times)
Because it’s fun to do
We wave them up high
We wave them down low
We wave them in the middle
Because it’s fun to do

We throw our scarves together (3 times)
We throw them up high
We throw them down low
We throw them in the middle
Because it’s fun to do

Movement Rhyme: I Clap My Hands
I clap my hands
I touch my feet
I jump up from the ground

I clap my hands
I touch my feet
I turn myself around

I clap my hands
I touch my feet
I sit myself right down

I clap my hands
I touch my feet
I do not make a sound.
Shhhh!

 

Entry filed under: Music & Movement. Tags: .

Toddler Time April 9, 2015 Stop and Go Storytime

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories