Hats Off to You

January 20, 2015 at 2:00 pm Leave a comment

Tuesday,  Jan. 20th, 2015

Books

Hetty’s 100 Hats by Emma Dodd
Hooray for Hat by Brian Won
Stormy’s Hat by Eric Kimmel

Music

This Hat by Laurie Berkner – Under a Shady Tree
My Hat has 3 Corners by Eric Litwin – Rockin’ Red

 Activities

Crafts:
We made a fabulous 3 Cornered Hat

 Songs & Rhymes

Song: On My Head I Wear my Hat

Tune: This Old Man
On my head I wear my hat.
It is such a silly hat that my head
will wiggle waggle to and fro
Where else can my silly hat go?
(foot, elbow, knee…)

On my hands I wear my hat.
It is such a quiet hat that
my hands don’t wiggle they just go clap.
Then I fold them in my lap.


Rhyme:

Tall hat, (arms overhead)
Small hat (hands on head)
Big hat (arms outspread)
Cap (hands on head)
Let me take them off again (repeat motions in reverse)
And put them in my lap. (fold hands in lap)

Rhyme: Hats for Animals

(with felt board)
 Five funny summer hats,
A red one to adore,
A monkey came and bought it –
And now, there are four

Four funny summer hats
The yellow one should please
A kangaroo just bought it –
And now, there are three

Three funny summer hats
One is big and blue
An elephant just bought it
And now, there are two

Two funny summer hats
The pink one’s good for sun
A giraffe came and bought it
And now there’s only one.

One funny summer hat
It’s very, very small
A mouse came and bought it
The last one of all

Entry filed under: Tuesday AM Storytime. Tags: , .

Music and Movement – Jan. 16th 2015 Baby Time: January 21, 2015

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories