Numbers & Shapes

July 10, 2014 at 6:00 pm Leave a comment

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Books

Two at the Zoo by Danna Smith, illus. by Valeria Petrone
It Looked Like Spilt Milk by Charles G. Shaw
Perfect Square by Michael Hall
The Baker’s Dozen by Dan Andreasen
Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett, illus. by Kevin Cornell

Music

“The Number Dance” by Mr. Eric, The Big Silly with Mr. Eric
“Jumping and Counting” by Jim Gill, Jim Gill’s Irrational Anthem
“Count with Me” by Michael Plunkett, Ribbons & Rhythms
“Jig Along Shapes” by Hap Palmer, So Big

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Movement Rhyme: Ten Fingers
I have ten fingers (hold up both hands, fingers spread).
And they all belong to me, (point to self).
I can make them do things-
Would you like to see?

I can shut them up tight (make fists)
I can open them wide (open hands).
I can put them together (place palms together).
I can make them all hide (put hands behind back).

I can make them jump high (hands over head).
I can make them jump low (touch floor).
I can fold them up quietly(fold hands in lap).
And hold them just so.

Movement Rhyme: Number Fun
All the fives, dance the jive.
All the fours, knock on the floor
All the threes, shake their knees.
All the twos, paddle canoes.
All the ones, stand and run.
All the numbers look alive.

Guessing Game: Four Little Shapes
Tune: Five Green & Speckled Frogs
Four little shapes I’ll guess
I’ll try my very best
Can I guess each and every one?
Uh-huh!

Five points twinkling so bright
Shines in the sky at night
What do I think this shape is called?
A star!

Round like a toy truck wheel
A ball is placed with by a seal
What do I think this shape is called?
A circle!

I’m like a box or book
Four sides, just take a look
What do I think this shape is called?
A square!

Three corners and three sides
Shaped like a piece of pie
What do I think this shape is called?
A triangle!

Entry filed under: Evening Storytime. Tags: , , , .

Baby Time: July 9, 2014 Space Flight

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories