Bugs Come to Storytime

March 11, 2014 at 2:00 pm Leave a comment

Tuesday,  Mar.11th 2014

Books
“Ugh! A Bug” by Mary Bono
“Bugs! Bugs! Bugs!” by Bob Barner
“I Love Bugs!” by Emma Dodd
“The Ant and the Grasshopper” by Ed & Rebecca Emberley

Music
Crazy Blue Beetle – Caspar Babypants – “Hot Dog!”
Sugar Ant – “Hot Dog!”
Sweepin’ Broom – “Hot Dog!”
Flick a Fly – Hap Palmer – Walter the Waltzing Worm
Shoo Fly – Carole Peterson – Dancing Feet

Activities
Felt Board :

Ladybug has Spots (a counting rhyme)
Ants Go Marching One by One

Songs & Rhymes

Song: Insects All Around 
(tune – Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star)

Lady bugs and butterflies,
Buzzing bees up in the sky.
Teeny, tiny little ants,
Crawling up and down the plants
Many insects can be found
In the sky and on the ground.

Rhyme: I Saw a Little LadyBug

I saw a little lady bug flying in the air,
But when I tried to catch her, two bugs were there.

Two little lady bugs flew up in a tree.
I tiptoed very quietly, and then I saw three.

Three little lady bugs–I looked for one more.
I saw one sitting on the ground, that made four.

Four little lady bugs–another one arrived.
I saw her sitting on a flower, and that made five.

Five little lady bugs, all red and black–
I clapped my hands and shouted, and they all flew back!

Rhyme: Ten Little Grasshoppers

One Little, two little, three little grasshoppers,
Four little, five little, six little grasshoppers,
Seven little, eight little, nine little grasshoppers,
Ten grasshoppers in my yard.

Grasshoppers, grasshoppers,
Hopping all around me.
Grasshoppers, grasshoppers,
Hopping all around me.
Grasshoppers, grasshoppers,
Hopping all around me.
Ten grasshoppers in my yard.

Ten Little, nine little, eight little grasshoppers,
Seven little, six little, five little grasshoppers,
Four little, three little, two little grasshoppers,
One grasshopper in my yard.

Grasshopper, grasshopper,
Hopping all around me.
Grasshopper, grasshopper,
Hopping all around me.
Grasshopper, grasshopper,
Hopping all around me.
One grasshopper in my yard.

Entry filed under: Tuesday AM Storytime. Tags: , , , .

Music and Movement – March 7th, 2014 Emma Dodd Story Time

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories