Woolbur & Friends

September 19, 2013 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Books

Woolbur by Leslie Helakoski, illus. by Lee Harper
Where is the Green Sheep by Mem Fox, illus. by Judy Horacek
It’s Okay to Be Different by Todd Parr
Square Cat by Elizabeth Schoonmaker
The Artist Who Painted a Blue Horse by Eric Carle

Music

Charlotte Diamond’s World – Charlotte Diamond
“Down on the Farm” – Greg & Steve, We All Live Together, vol. 5
Mary Had a Little Lamb” – Hap Palmer, Classic Nursery Rhymes

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Fingerplay: Ten Little Fingers
I have ten little fingers and they all belong to me.
I can make them do things, would you like to see?
I can shut them all up tight or open them up wide.
I can put them all together, or make them run and hide.
I can make them jump up high, or I can make them hang real low.
I can fold them in my lap and hold them just like so.

Song: Woolbur
From the Michigan Reads! Programming Guide
(Tune: Mary Had a Little Lamb)
Woolbur was a special sheep, special sheep, special sheep
Woolbur was a special sheep and he was pretty great.

He carded his own wool one day . . . and that was pretty great
He rode around the spinning wheel . . .
He dyed his own wool blue one day . . .
He wove his forelock in the loom . . .
He helped the other sheep laugh and play . . .

Nursery Rhymes
Mary Had a Little Lamb
Mary had a little lamb,
Little lamb, little lamb.
Mary had a little lamb,
Its fleece was white as snow.

Baa Baa Black Sheep
Baa, baa, black sheep have you any wool?
Yes, sir, yes, sir, three bags full.
One for the master, and one for the dame,
And one for the little boy who lives down the lane.

Little Bo Peep
Little Bo-Peep has lost her sheep,
And can’t tell where to find them.
Leave them alone and they’ll come home,
Wagging their tails behind them.

Fingerplay: The Lamb Went
From Storytime Katie
The lamb went…
Around the cow in the corn (trace circle in palm)
Under the haystack (go under the hand)
Up the hill and down the hill (go up the arm and down the arm)
Over the fence (go above the hand)
Through the door (slide hands and clap)
And was back in time to meet the teacher (trace circle in palm)

Song: See What I Can Do
by Elizabeth Scofield
(Tune: Hokey-Pokey)
Oh, I can reach up high,
Oh, I can reach down low.
Oh, I can clap real fast.
Oh, I can clap real slow.
I can do so many things,
I can twirl around.
That’s what I can do!

Point/march
Wave/shake

Entry filed under: Evening Storytime, Thursday AM Storytime. Tags: , .

Baby Time: September 18, 2013 Baby Time: September 25, 2013

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories