Commotion in the Ocean

March 29, 2013 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

March 29, 2013

Books
Rub-a-Dub Sub by Linda Ashman
I Spy Under the Sea by Edward Gibbs

Music
“The Goldfish” from Victor Vito by Laurie Berkner
“Under the Sea” from The Little Mermaid Soundtrack

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays
Fingerplay: Ten Little Fish
Ten little fish floating in a row
They bowed their heads just so
Then they swam to the left
And swam to the right
A shark snapped its jaws!
And gave the fish a fright!

Fingerplay: I’m a Little Octopus
Arm #1 goes swish, swish, swish.
Arm #2 helps me catch fish.
Arm #3 pats my head.
Arm #4 makes sure I’m fed.
Arm #5 swims me to shore.
Arm #6 touches the ocean floor.
Arm #7 can grab and tug.
But all eight arms give me a hug!

Movement Song: I Wish I Was a Fish
(tune: Happy & You Know It)
Oh, I wish I was a fishy in the sea. (clap, clap)
Oh, I wish I was a fishy in the sea.
I’d swim around so cute, without my bathing suit.
Oh, I wish I was a fishy in the sea.

Oh, I wish I was a shark in the sea. (“snap” your hands together)
Oh, I wish I was an octopus in the sea. (wiggle arms)

Movement Rhyme: Open Shut Them
Open, shut them.
Open, shut them.
Give a little clap.
Open, shut them.
Open, shut them.
Put them in your lap.
Creep them, creep them up to your chin.
Open your mouth, but do not let them in!
Open, shut them.
Open, shut them.
Put them in your lap.

Circle Time: The Waves on the Sea
(tune: Wheels on the Bus)
The waves on the sea go up and down,
Up and down, up and down,
The waves on the sea go up and down
All day long.

Additional Verses:
The shark in the sea goes snap snap snap..
The fish in the sea go swish swish swish..
The boats in the sea go toot toot toot…

Closing Song: Wave Goodbye

Wave high, wave low,
I think it’s time, we gotta go.
Wave your elbows, wave your toes,
Wave your tongue and wave your nose.
Wave your knees, wave your lips,
Blow a kiss with fingertips.
Wave your chin, wave your eye,
Wave your hand and say “Goodbye!”

Entry filed under: Music & Movement.

Thursday Storytime – Bunnies Silly Storytime

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories