Chugga Chugga Beep Beep

February 19, 2013 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

February 19, 2013

Books
Down By the Station by Will Hillenbrand
Freight Train by Donald Crews
Don’t Let Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems

Music
“Driving in My Car” from Ralph’s World by Ralph Covert

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays
Opening Song: Come Along and Sing With Me
(tune: Mary Had a Little Lamb)
Come along and sing with me, sing with me, sing with me.
Come along and sing with me, on a sunny Tuesday.

Come along and clap with me . . .
Come along and jump with me…
Come along and stretch with me . . .
Come along and sit with me…

Movement Song: If You’re An Elephant
If you’re an elephant and you know it stomp the ground.
If you’re an elephant and you know it stomp the ground.
If you’re an elephant and you really want to show it.
If you’re an elephant and you know it stomp the ground.

Flamingo…flap your wings
Tiger…roar real loud
Seal…clap your flippers
If you’re at storytime and you know it sit back down!

Movement Rhyme: 10 Little Fingers
I have ten little fingers, and they all belong to me.
I can make them do things, would you like to see?
I can shut them tight.
I can open them wide.
I can put them together.
I can make them hide.
I can make them fly high.
I can make them fly low.
I can fold them like this and hold them just so.

Flannel Board: This Little Train
(Sung to: “This Old Man”)
This little train, painted black
It comes chugging down the track
With a “Choo-choo; Toot-toot” (suit actions to words)
Hear the whistle blow
This little train goes chugging home.

This little car painted blue
It has seats for me and you
With a “Choo-choo; Toot-toot”
Hear the whistle blow
This little train goes chugging home.

This little car painted yellow
It shimmies and shakes like a bowl of jello
With a “Choo-choo; Toot-toot”
Hear the whistle blow
This little train goes chugging home.

This little car, painted green
It’s the fanciest car you’ve seen,
With a “Choo-choo; Toot-toot”
Hear the whistle blow
This little train goes chugging home.

This little car; painted grey
It takes you places far away
With a “Choo-choo; Toot-toot”
Hear the whistle blow
This little train goes chugging home.

This caboose; painted red
It will take you home to bed
With a “Choo-choo; Toot-toot”
Hear the whistle blow
This little train goes chugging home.

Movement Song: Wheels On The Bus
The wheels on the bus go round and round,
Round and round, round and round.
The wheels on the bus go round and round,
All day long.

The wipers on the bus go swish, swish, swish.
The people on the bus go up and down.
The kids on the bus go clap, clap, clap.

Closing Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This
We wave goodbye like this
We wave goodbye like this
We clap our hands for all our friends
We wave goodbye like this

Entry filed under: Tuesday AM Storytime.

Music & Movement – February 15, 2013 Baby Time February 20, 2013

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories