Happy Valentine’s Day!

February 14, 2013 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

Books
Love, Splat by Rob Scotton
Clifford’s Valentine’s Day by Norman Bridwell
Sweet Hearts by Jan Carr

Music
I Love It by Eric Litwin, Rockin’ Red

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays
Clap and Sing Hello! (tune: Farmer in the Dell)
We clap and sing hello,
We clap and sing hello,
With our friends at storytime,
We clap and sing hello!

We wave and sing hello
We wave and sing hello,
With our friends at storytime,
We wave and sing hello!

We stomp and sing hello,
We stomp and sing hello,
With our friends at storytime,
We wave and sing hello!

Sometimes
Sometimes my hands are at my side
Hold hands at side
Then behind my back they hide
Put hands behind back
Sometimes I wiggle my fingers so
Wiggle your fingers
Shake them fast, shake them slow
Shake fingers fast and slow
Sometimes my hands go clap, clap, clap
Clap hands
Then I rest them in my lap
Rest hands in lap
Now they’re quiet as can be.
Because it’s listening time, you see.

Skinamarink
Skinamarink a dink a dink.
Skidnmarink a doo.
I love you.

Skinamarink a dink a dink.
Skinamarink a doo.
I love you.

I love you in the morning.
And in the afternoon.
I love you in the evening.
And underneath the moon.

Skinamarink a dink a dink.
Skinamarink a doo.
I love you.

Little Red Valentine
Little Red Valentine, I love you, I love you, I love you.
Little Red Valentine, I love you.
Orange one says, “I do, too!”

Little Orange Valentine, I love you, I love you, I love you.
Little Orange Valentine, I love you.
Green one says, “I do, too!”

Little Green Valentine, I love you, I love you, I love you.
Little Green Valentine, I love you.
Blue one says, “I do, too!”

Little Blue Valentine, I love you, I love you, I love you.
Little Blue Valentine, I love you.
Purple one says, “I do, too!”

Little Purple Valentine, I love you, I love you, I love you.
Little Purple Valentine, I love you.
Pink one says, “I do, too!”

Little Pink Valentine, I love you, I love you, I love you.
Little Pink Valentine, I love you
Everyone says, “We do too!”

Ten Little Valentines
One little, two little, three little Valentines,
Four little, five little, six little Valentines,
Seven little, eight little, nine little Valentines,
Ten valentines in a row.

Little Heart
I have a little heart,
(place hand over heart)
And it goes thump, thump, thump
(pat chest three times)
It keeps right on beating,
When I jump, jump, jump
(jump three times)
I get a special feeling, when I look at you.
(point to child)
It makes me want to give you a hug or two.
(hug yourself)

Open Shut Them
Open, shut them.
Open, shut them.
Give a little clap.
Open, shut them.
Open, shut them.
Lay them in your lap.
Creep them, creep them up to your chin.
Open your mouth, but do not let them in!
Open, shut them.
Open, shut them.
Lay them in your lap.

If You’re Happy and You Know It
If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands Clap! Clap!
If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands Clap! Clap!
If you’re happy and you know it, and you really want to show it
If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands Clap! Clap

Stomp your feet
Blink your eyes
Wave goodbye!

Entry filed under: Thursday AM Storytime. Tags: , , .

Love Is In The Air! Music & Movement – February 15, 2013

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories