Moose on the Loose

September 20, 2012 at 5:00 pm Leave a comment

September 20, 2012

Books

Moose on the Loose by Kathy-Jo Wargin, illus. by John Bendall-Brunello
Ernest, the Moose Who Doesn’t Fit by Catherine Rayner
If You Give a Moose a Muffin by Laura Joffe Numeroff, illus. by Felicia Bond

Music

“Fred the Moose” from #1 Best Kids Songs! by Learning Station

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Movement Activity: I’m a Moose
I have antlers and a nose
I have hooves for toes
And I stand about six feet tall
I’m in the mud up to my knees
Just a chewin’ on the leaves
I’m a moose! I’m a moose!
Can you hear me call?
Oo-roog!!! Oo-roog!

Movement Activity: My Little Moose
My little moose is funny and brown (do hands with antlers on your head)
He jumps quickly up! (jump up!)
And he flops back down! (flop down)
He bends to the left,
Then bends to the right (move side to side)
Then my funny little moose
Walks out of sight.

Rhyme: Five Sleepy Moose (told as magnetic story)
Five sleepy moose on a great big hill.
The first one said, “I like lying still.”
The second one said, “I’m about to yawn!”
The third one said, “Please don’t wake me until dawn.”
The fourth one said, “My eyes are starting to close.”
The fifth one said, “It’s time for a doze.”
So they pulled up their covers and all said, “Goodnight!”
Then the five sleepy moose were out like a light.

Song: Moose Pokey
You put your right hoof in (use foot)
You put your right hoof out.
You put your right hoof in,
And you shake it all about.
You do the Moose Pokey
And you turn yourself around.
That’s what it’s all about.

*You put your left hoof in…
*You put your antlers in…
*You put your whole self in

Entry filed under: Evening Storytime. Tags: .

Bubbles Baby Time September 26

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories