When I Grow Up

July 19, 2012 at 5:00 pm Leave a comment

July 19, 2012

Books

I Can Be Anything by Jerry Spinelli, illus. by Jimmy Liao
Baby Bear’s Big Dreams by Jane Yolen, illus. by Melissa Sweet
Community Helpers: Safety by Karen Durrie
Dog Loves Books by Louise Yates

Music

Dream Big! by Roger Day
“Take Me Out to the Ballgame” from Wiggleworms Love You
Down By the Station” from Kidsongs
“Parachute Bop” from Shakin’ the Chute by Michael Plunkett

Songs, Rhymes & Fingerplays

Movement Activity: See What I Can Do
(Tune: “Hokey-Pokey”)
Oh, I can reach up high,
Oh, I can reach down low.
Oh, I can clap real fast.
Oh, I can clap real slow.
I can do so many things,
I can twirl around.
That’s what I can do!

Oh, I can point up high,
Oh, I can point down low.
Oh, I can march real fast.
Oh, I can march real slow.
I can do so many things,
I can twirl around.
That’s what I can do!

Movement Activity: The Sleepy Firefighter
The sleepy firefighter climbs into bed (Yawn and stretch)
Down on the pillow he lays his head (Put head on hands and pretend to sleep)
Off goes the alarm (Clap)
And down the pole he slides (Make sliding down motion with hands)
He jumps into the truck
And to the fire he rides (Make driving motion with hands)

Entry filed under: Evening Storytime. Tags: , .

Baby Time July 18, 2012 Tuesday Storytime July 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Like what you see?

The library has many of the books and music we use in our storytimes in the collection, so you can check them out and use them at home. We also get resources from MelCat, our inter-library loan system. For help finding these materials, stop by the Youth Desk.

Categories